Escorted Rail Tours to Nuremberg
An attractive city infamous for its past
Nuremberg is the administrative capital of Middle
Franconia, situated on the Pegnitz River and the Rhine-Main-Danube
Canal. With a population in excess of 500,000, it is Franconia's
largest city. The city was the centre of German Renaissance during
the 15th and 16th centuries, and has particular historical
significance due to its role during the Nazi Period. The Nazi Party
held their conventions (the Nuremberg rallies) in the city between
1927 and 1938. After Hitler's installation as the Führer, the
Nuremberg rallies became huge propaganda events. In the years after
World War II, the city hosted the war crime trials of many of the
key Nazi officials - known as the Nuremberg Trials.
The Old Town of Nuremberg dates back to medieval times, and
within the city walls of the Old Town there are several Gothic
Churches, including the Frauenkirche. Built between 1355 and 1358
on the site of a destroyed synagogue (in what had been the Jewish
Quarter), "Our Lady's Church" was the first Gothic hall church in
Franconia, and was given to Nuremberg's Catholic congregation in
1816. The church opens for visitors at 0900, closing at 1700.
The Handwerkerhof (Craftsmen's Courtyard) is located in
the middle of the city, and is surrounded by the towers and walls
of the medieval city fortification. It is a little town of its own
where you can discover workshops and shops from craftsmen such as
pewterers, glassmakers, engravers, potters, gold and silversmiths,
and many more.
Nuremberg Castle is located on a sandstone rock in the north of
the city, and comprises three parts: the Emperor's buildings
("Kaiserburg"), the buildings of the rulers of Nuremberg
("Burggrafenburg"), and the buildings on the eastern side
("städtische Burganlage"). Between 1050 and 1571, all of the
Emperors of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation were
resident here at some point.